Salah, Mane and Mahrez headline CAF Awards Player of the Year nominees


Premier League stars Mohammed Salah (Liverpool), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City) and Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane will headline the 2022 CAF Men’s Player of the Year award.

CAF on Monday announced the final list of nominees for the African Player of the Year award.

10 players including these three superstars will be competing for the prize.

Mane, who will defend the crown, has had an incredible season for club and country.

The Senegal star has won the AFCON title, FA Cup, Carabao Cup and also helped Liverpool reach the Champions League final and helped Teranga Lions qualify for the 2022 World Cup.

Egyptian Mohammed Salah has had an incredible season winning two trophies with Liverpool (FA Cup and Carabao Cup).

Salah played a key role when Liverpool reached the UEFA Champions League final last season.

Algerian Riyad Mahrez won the Premier League title with Manchester City and also played a key role in the team reaching the last four of the Champions League.

The 2022 CAF Awards will be held in Rabat, Morocco on July 21, 2022.

Full list of nominees (in alphabetical order by member association):

Player of the Year (Men)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Olympique Lyonnais)

Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nasr)

Sebastien Haller (Ivory Coast & Ajax)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Naples)

Sadio Mané (Senegal & Bayern Munich)


Comments are closed.