Germany removes Japan and Senegal from the list of high regions and adds 5 more


The German Federal Government agency and the research institute responsible for disease control and prevention, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), have updated the list of high-risk areas with increased rates of infections to COVID-19, removing Japan, Senegal and the French region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur from the list.

The decision was announced on Friday, September 24, and goes into effect on Sunday, September 26, and that means travelers from these two countries and the French region mentioned above are no longer subject to the stringent entry requirements that arise. apply to arrivals from countries and regions. classified as high risk.

Germany added Japan to the list of high-risk areas earlier this month due to the COVID-19 situation there. At the time, Japanese authorities reported 17,456 new cases of COVID-19 as of September 4 alone. However, in the past 24 hours, Japan has reported 3,457 cases, according to data from the World Health Organization. The country is home to a population of 126.3 million.

On the other hand, the RKI, which reports to the Federal Ministry of Health, has added the following countries and regions to the list of high-risk areas due to an increase in the number of COVID-19 infections reported on their territory:

  • Burundi
  • Ethiopia
  • France – the French overseas department New Caledonia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Slovenia

Data from the World Health Organization shows that Slovenia, an EU country of 2.081 million people, has reported 1,011 new cases of coronavirus in the past 24 hours.

Travelers from countries on the high-risk list who are eligible to enter Germany, aged 12 and over, are required to present their vaccination certificates, or test results, upon entry. They are also required to register at before arriving in Germany and to have proof of registration with them when they arrive in the country.

In addition, when entering the Federal Republic of Germany after a stay in a foreign high-risk area or in a virus variant area, special registration, proof and quarantine requirements must be observed,», Notes the RKI.

For now, unvaccinated travelers can enter Germany for non-essential purposes only from the following third countries: Australia, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macao, New Zealand, Rwanda, Arabia Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Ukraine and Uruguay.

Travelers from Chile, Kuwait and Rwanda, regardless of their vaccination status, will not be allowed entry until Sunday, September 26, after the European Commission recommended member states allow entry of travelers from these countries.

>> Who can travel to Germany amid COVID-19 and what are the rules


Leave A Reply